AJC boys All-Metro basketball teams


Player of the year: Wendell Carter, Pace Academy

Coach of the year: Rory Welsh, Langston Hughes

First team

F DeAundre Ballard, Southwest Atlanta Christian, 6-6, Sr.

F Wendell Carter, Pace Academy, 6-10, Sr.

G Landers Nolley, Langston Hughes, 6-4, Jr.

F Chuma Okeke, Westlake, 6-7, Sr.

F Tyler Thornton, South Atlanta, 6-7, Sr.

Second team

G Ryan Greer, Lovett, 6-1, So.

C JaQuavius Hayes, Jackson-Atlanta, 6-6, Sr.

F Isaiah Kelly, Pace Academy, 6-7, Jr.

G Danny Lewis, Westlake, 6-4, Sr.

G Devonta Pullins, South Atlanta, 6-0, Sr.

Honorable mention: Derrick Cook, Langston Hughes; Jamie Lewis, Westlake; Stavon Griggs, KIPP Atlanta Collegiate; Tyson Jackson, Creekside; Corey Moore, Therrell


Player of the year: Collin Sexton, Pebblebrook

Coach of the year: Gregory Moultrie, South Cobb

First team

G Isaiah Hart, Whitefield Academy, 5-10, Sr.

G Isaac Okoro, McEachern, 6-5, So.

G Darius Perry, Wheeler, 6-2 Sr.

G Collin Sexton, Pebblebrook, 6-2, Sr.

G Trevin Wade, South Cobb, 5-11, Jr.

Second team

F Demiere Brown, North Cobb Christian, 6-5, Sr.

G Tyree Crankfield, Campbell, 5-10, Sr.

G Trey Doomes, Allatoona, 6-3, Jr.

G Elias Harden, Pebblebrook, 6-4, Sr.

C E.J. Montgomery,Wheeler, 6-10, Jr.

Honorable mention: Babatunde Akingbola, McEachern; Demierre Black, Hillgrove; Drue Drinnon, Pebblebrook; Jordan Usher, Wheeler; Alex Watson, Pope


Player of the year: Naquante “Tae’’ Hardy, Miller Grove

Coach of the year: Aaron Parr, St. Pius

First team

G Mandarius Dickerson, Southwest DeKalb, 6-2, Jr.

G/F Darius Giles, Arabia Mountain, 6-3, Sr.

G Naquante “Tae’’ Hardy, Miller Grove, 6-3, Sr.

G Bryce Latimer, Stephenson, 5-8, Jr.

C Ikey Obiagu, Greenforest Christian, 7-0, Sr.

Second team

F Terrance Boykin, Columbia, 6-7, Jr.

F Jamari Dean, Cedar Grove, 6-5, Jr.

G Justin Forrest, Greenforest Christian 6-2, Sr.

G Matthew Gonzalo, St. Pius, 5-10, So.

F Abayomi Iyiola, Greenforest Christian, 6-10, Sr.

Honorable mention: Devon Barnes, Cedar Grove; Jalen Cobb, Columbia; Victor Enoh, Greenforest Christian; Everett Lane, St. Pius; Glenn Robinson, Chamblee


Player of the year: Rayshaun Hammonds, Norcross

Coach of the year: Geoffrey Pierce, Grayson

First team

G Al “Bubba” Durham, Berkmar, 6-4, Sr.

F Rayshaun Hammonds, Norcross, 6-7, Sr.

G Alex Jones, Buford, 5-10, Jr.

G Donald Parham, Brookwood, 5-11, Sr.

F Marcus Watson, Buford, 6-4, So.

Second team

G Travis Anderson, Grayson, 5-11, Jr.

G Connor Heyward, Peachtree Ridge, 6-2, Sr.

F T.J. Massenburg, Shiloh, 6-8, Sr.

G Christian McLean, Wesleyan, 6-2, Jr.

F Lance Thomas, Norcross, 6-8, Sr.

Honorable mention: Jay Estime, Berkmar; Jalen Hillery, Central Gwinnett; Christian Mancillas, Mill Creek; Kenny Stanciel, Collins Hill; Kyle Sturdivant, Norcross


Player of the year: Alex O’Connell, Milton

Coach of the year: Ty Phillips, Roswell

First team

G Justin Brown, Northview, 6-0, Jr.

G Elijah Jenkins, Riverwood, 6-3, Sr.

G Cole Smith, Holy Innocents’, 6-3, Sr.

G Alex O’Connell, Milton, 6-5, Sr.

G Dwon Odom, St. Francis, 6-2, Fr.

Second team

F James Anderson, Roswell, 6-5, Sr.

G Brandon Barron, Alpharetta, 5-9, So.

G Miles Herron, Roswell, 5-9, So.

G/F Kyle Swade, Blessed Trinity, 6-1, Sr.

G Vinnie Viana, North Springs, 6-0, Jr.

Honorable mention: Will Bracknell, Chattahoochee; Chase Ellis, St. Francis; Jules Erving, Holy Innocents’; Kamar Robertson, Cambridge; Christian Wright, Milton


Player of the year: M.J. Walker, Jonesboro

Coach of the year: Vincent Rosser, Henry County

First team

G Javon Green, Henry County, 6-2, Sr.

F Noah Gurley, Fayette County, 6-8, Sr.

F Evan Jester, Sandy Creek, 6-7, Sr.

G Damion Rosser, Henry County, 6-4, Sr.

G M.J. Walker, Jonesboro, 6-4, Sr.

Second team

C Ahsan Asadullah, North Clayton, Sr.

G/F Kavonte Ivery, Stockbridge, 6-5, Jr.

G Austin Nesmith, Fayette County, 5-11, Sr.

G Wesley Simpson, Union Grove, 6-1, Jr.

G Avery Wilson, Forest Park, 6-4, Sr.

Honorable mention: Mohammed Abubakkar, Eagle’s Landing; William Black, Drew; Drew Hudson, Starr’s Mill; Elafayette Stone, East Coweta; K.J. Wilkins, Sandy Creek

Reader Comments ...

Next Up in Sports

Ten observations: Warriors 106, Hawks 94
Ten observations: Warriors 106, Hawks 94
The Warriors are championship contenders but they were missing a lot of talent against the Hawks. All-Stars Kevin Durant (rib), Draymond Green (pelvis) and Klay Thompson (thumb) were out. That means Golden State still had one All-Star available, two-time MVP Stephen Curry, who returned from a six-game absence because of an ankle injury. Even with Curry...
Friday spring scores
Academy for Classical Education 12, Baldwin 0 Adairsville 15, Murray County 12 Alexander 11, Tri-Cities 1 Appling County 17, Liberty County 2 Aquinas 18, Washington-Wilkes 8 Athens Academy 6, Prince Avenue 4 Benedictine 11, Bryan County 4 Blessed Trinity 13, White County 2 Bowdon 8, Trion 5 Brantley County 6, Long County 5 Calhoun 4, Bremen 2 Cartersville...
WATCH: Grant Hill pokes fun at Duke’s floor slap during zone defense vs. Syracuse
WATCH: Grant Hill pokes fun at Duke’s floor slap during zone defense vs. Syracuse

This isn’t the Coach K style of defense Grant Hill remembers from his time at Duke in the 1990s. The Blue Devils legend seized an opportunity during the Sweet 16 to throw some friendly shade at his alma mater. It was a battle of the zones when Duke clashed with ACC rival Syracuse on Friday night. Under Jim Boeheim, Syracuse is regarded...
Texas Tech fans hit Twitter hard to celebrate Elite Eight berth
Texas Tech fans hit Twitter hard to celebrate Elite Eight berth

What Mike Krzyzewski said after Duke’s victory vs. Syracuse in Sweet 16
What Mike Krzyzewski said after Duke’s victory vs. Syracuse in Sweet 16

More Stories