Georgia Tech's Josh Okogie drives to the basket against North Carolina during the second half of an NCAA college basketball game in Chapel Hill, N.C., Saturday, Jan. 20, 2018. North Carolina won 80-66. (AP Photo/Gerry Broome)
Photo: Gerry Broome/AP
Photo: Gerry Broome/AP

ACC honors for Josh Okogie, Ben Lammers

Georgia Tech guard Josh Okogie received deserved honors from the ACC as he was named third-team All-ACC in a vote of coaches and media. Okogie becomes the first Tech sophomore to earn All-ACC honors since Gani Lawal in 2009.

Center Ben Lammers was also named to the five-man all-defensive team for the second year in a row. The awards were announced Sunday by the conference.

At 18.3 points per game in ACC games, Okogie was fourth in the league in scoring. He has been a play-maker for Tech in all facets, as he’s second on the team in rebounds at 6.3 per game and had the most assists (52) and steals (31) in ACC play.

He went for 30 points against Miami, one of eight 20-point games against ACC competition, and had two double-digit rebounding games. He set a career high with five steals in Tech’s win over Wake Forest on Saturday.

“Obviously, he’s a great scorer, great defender, but he also does the dirty work that you need to do to win,” Lammers said Saturday. “He’ll dive on the floor, get a charge or run up and get a rebound or hit a key shot.”

Lammers, a second-team All-ACC selection and the defensive player of the year last season, has been hampered by a sprained ankle most of the season but has still been an effective interior defender. He is third in the ACC in blocked shots at 2.4 per game and seventh in defensive rebounding at 5.7 per game. In league games, with Lammers defending the rim and post, Tech was fifth in two-point defensive field-goal percentage, according to KenPom.

No other Tech players were named to any to any other teams or awards.

Duke freshman Marvin Bagley was named both player of the year and rookie of the year, becoming just the second player in conference history to win both awards in the same season, joining Duke’s Jahlil Okafor, who won both in 2015. Virginia coach Tony Bennett was named coach of the year after leading the Cavaliers to a 17-1 regular-season league record.

Virginia’s Isaiah Wilkins, a Greater Atlanta Christian graduate and the stepson of Hawks great Dominique Wilkins, was named defensive player of the year. The sixth man of the year was De’Andre Hunter of Virginia. The most improved player was North Carolina’s Luke Maye.


First Team

Marvin Bagley III, Duke, 280*

Jerome Robinson, Boston College, 273

Luke Maye, North Carolina, 246

Joel Berry II, North Carolina, 223

Kyle Guy, Virginia, 168

Second Team

Tyus Battle, Syracuse, 159

Marcquise Reed, Clemson, 143

Devon Hall, Virginia, 129

Wendell Carter, Jr., Duke, 126

Justin Robinson, Virginia Tech, 123

Third Team

Grayson Allen, Duke, 119

Matt Farrell, Notre Dame, 89

Ty Jerome, Virginia, 67

Josh Okogie, Georgia Tech, 57

Omer Yurtseven, NC State, 54

Honorable Mention

Deng Adel, Louisville, 51

Ky Bowman, Boston College, 37

Lonnie Walker, Miami (FL), 30

Bryant Crawford, Wake Forest, 23

Markell Johnson, NC State, 21

Ray Spalding, Louisville, 19

Allerik Freeman, NC State, 18

Theo Pinson, North Carolina, 14

Terance Mann, Florida State, 12

Gabe DeVoe, Clemson, 12

All-Freshman Team

Marvin Bagley III, Duke, 57*

Wendell Carter, Jr., Duke, 56

Lonnie Walker, Miami, 51

De'Andre Hunter, Virginia, 33

Oshae Brissett, Syracuse, 33

All-Defensive Team

Isaiah Wilkins, Virginia, 49

Anas Mahmoud, Louisville, 37

Elijah Thomas, Clemson, 34

Devon Hall, Virginia, 32

Ben Lammers, Georgia Tech, 25

Player of the Year 

Marvin Bagley III, Duke, 37

Jerome Robinson, Boston College, 14 

Luke Maye, North Carolina, 5

Devon Hall, Virginia, 1

Rookie of the Year 

Marvin Bagley III, Duke, 56

De'Andre Hunter, Virginia, 1

Coach of the Year 

Tony Bennett, Virginia, 47

Brad Brownell, Clemson, 8

Kevin Keatts, NC State, 2

Defensive Player of the Year 

Isaiah Wilkins, Virginia, 42

Anas Mahmoud, Louisville, 7

Elijah Thomas, Clemson, 3

Devin Wilson, Virginia Tech, 2

Jack Salt, Virginia, 1

Rex Pflueger, Notre Dame, 1

Wendell Carter Jr., Duke, 1 

Most Improved Player

Luke Maye, North Carolina, 26

Frank Howard, Syracuse, 5

Omer Yurtseven, NC State, 5

Martinas Geben, Notre Dame, 5

Doral Moore, Wake Forest, 5

Kyle Guy, Virginia, 3

Marcquise Reed, Clemson, 3

Phil Cofer, Florida State, 2

Dewan Huell, Miami, 2

Ty Jerome, Virginia, 1

Sixth Man of the Year

De'Andre Hunter, Virginia, 39

Chris Clarke, Virginia Tech, 7

Chris Lykes, Miami, 5

Keyshawn Woods, Wake Forest, 3

Trent Forrest, Florida State, 2

Marques Bolden, Duke, 1

* - Unanimous selection