Atlanta United dominates MLS awards finalists

Atlanta United placed five finalists, more than any other team,  for the MLS end-of-season awards, according to a list released by the league on Tuesday.

The five finalists are:

Coach of the year: Manager Gerardo Martino, who guided the Five Stripes to a 15-9-10 record and the playoffs. They were the first MLS expansion team since Seattle in 2009 to make the playoffs in their first year. The winner will be announced Nov. 27.

Most Valuable Player: Miguel Almiron, who scored nine goals and had 14 assists. The winner will be announced Dec. 4.

Rookie of the Year: Julian Gressel, who scored five goals and had nine assists in 32 appearances. The winner will be announced Nov. 8. 

Newcomer of the Year: Almiron and Josef Martinez, who scored 19 goals in 20 games. The winner will be announced Nov. 20.

The ballots were voted on by players, members of each team’s technical staff and select media.

Here is the complete lists:

Most Valuable Player

Miguel Almiron (Atlanta United)

Sebastian Giovinco (Toronto FC)

Nemanja Nikolic (Chicago Fire)

Diego Valeri (Portland Timbers)

David Villa (New York City FC)

 Newcomer of the Year

Miguel Almiron (Atlanta United)

Josef Martínez (Atlanta United)

Nemanja Nikolic (Chicago Fire)

Rookie of the Year

Abu Danladi (Minnesota United FC)

Jack Elliott (Philadelphia Union)

Julian Gressel (Atlanta United)

Coach of the Year

Gerardo "Tata" Martino (Atlanta United)

Veljko Paunovic (Chicago Fire)

Greg Vanney (Toronto FC)

 Defender of the Year

Justin Morrow (Toronto FC)

Ike Opara (Sporting Kansas City)

Kendall Waston (Vancouver Whitecaps FC)

Goalkeeper of the Year

Andre Blake (Philadelphia Union)

Stefan Frei (Seattle Sounders FC)

Tim Melia (Sporting Kansas City)

 Comeback Player of the Year

Clint Dempsey (Seattle Sounders FC)

Federico Higuaín (Columbus Crew SC)

Erick Torres (Houston Dynamo)

Humanitarian of the Year

Ryan Hollingshead (FC Dallas)

Matt Lampson (Chicago Fire)

Luis Robles (New York Red Bulls)

MLS Fair Play - Individual

Selected by MLS based on objective criteria such as fouls committed, cards received, games and minutes played, as well as subjective evaluation of sportsmanlike behavior.

DaMarcus Beasley (Houston Dynamo)

Jahmir Hyka (San Jose Earthquakes)

Dave Romney (LA Galaxy)

Referee of the Year

Allen Chapman

Ismail Elfath

Mark Geiger

 Assistant Referee of the Year

Jeremy Hanson

Corey Parker

Adam Wienckowski

 Awards Announcement Schedule:

Schedule subject to change

November 2: Humanitarian of the Year

November 7: Referee and Assistant Referee of the Year; Fair Play Award – Individual and Team

November 8: Rookie of the Year

November 9: Defender of the Year

November 14: Goal of the Year and Save of the Year

November 15: Comeback Player of the Year

November 16: Goalkeeper of the Year

November 20: Newcomer of the Year

November 27: MLS Coach of the Year

November 28: MLS Best XI

December 4:  Most Valuable Player

Reader Comments ...

Next Up in Sports

Hawkeye Wrestling Club turns All-Americans into world medalists
Hawkeye Wrestling Club turns All-Americans into world medalists

IOWA CITY, Iowa — The fashionable black-and-gold decor at the Dan Gable Wrestling Complex belies the grueling workouts that shape annual All-Americans and the next generation of international wrestlers. In concert with the current group of Hawkeyes, post-graduate wrestlers use the facility at all hours to compete at the world...
Open Waters?
Open Waters?

The Volvo Ocean Race will soon finish, and for the first time since the round-the-world sailing event began in 1973, a woman will be part of the winning crew. More than one woman, in fact. Though the final standings are yet to be determined, all seven teams have at least two women on their crew lists, and all seven team, including the three in contention...
Braves rally in ninth, fall short in fifteenth to Orioles
Braves rally in ninth, fall short in fifteenth to Orioles

The Braves are no strangers to late-game comebacks.  Earlier this season, they overcame a 7-3 score against Cincinnati on April 24 to force extra innings and scored six runs in the ninth inning to beat Miami 10-9 May 20.  The home team seemed on the verge of another ninth-inning walk-off win Friday night but couldn’t finish the job...
Braves relievers Winkler, Moylan feel the weight of 15-inning loss
Braves relievers Winkler, Moylan feel the weight of 15-inning loss

With closer Arodys Vizcaino nursing a sore shoulder and manager Brian Snitker wanting to wait another day before using him, the Braves turned to Dan Winkler Friday in a ninth-inning save opportunity with a two-run lead against the Orioles.  And he blew it sky-high in a six-run inning. And after the Braves scored four runs in the bottom of the...
Arkansas in Hog heaven after advancing to College World Series best-of-3 finals
Arkansas in Hog heaven after advancing to College World Series best-of-3 finals

Arkansas’ most enigmatic player needed to come through in a big way Friday night at the College World Series in Omaha, Neb. Not exactly an easy ask. Isaiah Campbell didn’t record even four outs the last time he faced Florida. The No. 1 team in the nation lit him and, eventually, Arkansas, to the tune of 17 runs....
More Stories