Prep Zone

Atlanta high school sports news from The Atlanta Journal-Constitution

Football coaching carousel: Monroe Area, Harris County make hires; 20 jobs reportedly open

The count of GHSA schools making reported football coaching changes this off-season is at 60 and rising.

Below is an updated list of changes along with a few recent hires and resignations.

*Loganville this week hired former Heritage (Conyers) coach Mike Parris to replace Eric Godfree, who took the Parkview job.

*Thomson coach Milan Turner resigned this week, citing family reasons.

*Oglethorpe County on Tuesday approved the hiring of Jimbo Hale from Wildwood High in Florida. Hale also had coached at Covenant Academy in Macon.

*Monroe Area has hired Baker County (Fla.) offensive coordinator Joey Sulkowski to replace the retiring Matt Fligg. Sulkowski, a Tift County graduate, worked under older brother Ryan Sukowski, who was hired at Coffee County in Tennessee. Joey Sulkowski has spent most of his coaching career in college ball with stops at Johnson C. Smith, Greensboro College and North Carolina A&T. Monroe Area was 11-1 in 2013 and 42-8 the past four seasons.

*Jones County head coach Dwight Jones started Monday at Harris County, taking over for Tommy Parks, who took the Upson-Lee job. Jones, who had been a coach at Hardaway (1995-2000) and Northside-Columbus, is moving closer to home, which is Phenix City, Ala.

*Bradwell Institute hired Greg Hill, the quarterback who led Georgia Southern to a national championship in 1999, to replace Adam Carter, who became defensive coordinator at Reinhardt University. Hill had been an assistant at Statesboro for eight seasons.

*Dutchtown has hired Henry County offensive coordinator Mark Myers to replace Kevin Jones, who resigned and was hired at Mount Zion of Jonesboro.

*Kevin Hunt is out as coach at Greenbrier, which finished 0-10 last season. Hunt had been promoted from defensive line coach before the 2012 season.

Thanks to Steve Slay for compiling this list.

Alpharetta - Open (Jason Dukes)

Armuchee - Muhammad Abdellatif (Preston Cash)

Bacon County - Ken Cofer (Hildrick Garrison)

Baldwin - Open (Dexter Copeland)

Bradwell Institute - Greg Hill (Adam Carter)

Campbell - Open (Harris Rainbow)

Carrollton - Ed Dudley (Rayvan Teague)

Cartersville - Open (Frank Barden)

Cass - Bobby Hughes (Rick Casko)

Cedar Shoals - Scott Wilkins (Chris Davis)

Chattahoochee - Vince Strine (Michael Owens)

Chattahoochee County - Josh Kemp (Russell Morgan)

Chattooga - Charles Hammon (Clay Livingstone)

Clarkston - Open (Gary Wansley)

Coahulla Creek - Chad Barger (Jared Hamlin)

Cook - Jon Lindsey (Ken Cofer)

Cross Keys - Open (David Radford)

Dutchtown - Mark Myers (Kevin Jones)

East Coweta - Steve Pardue (Clint Wade)

Fannin County - Jim Pavao (Greg Chambers)

Forest Park - Reginald Austin (John Diehl)

Greenbrier - Open (Kevin Hunt)

Harris County - Dwight Jones (Tommy Parks)

Heritage-Conyers - Wendell Early (Mike Parris)

Heritage-Ringgold - E.K. Slaughter (Tim James)

Irwin County - Open (Jon Lindsey)

Jenkins County - Charlie Waters (Ashley Harden)

Jones County - Open (Dwight Jones)

LaGrange - Dialleo Burks (Donnie Branch)

Lambert - Open (Sid Maxwell)

Lithia Springs - Open (Scott Dean)

Loganville - Mike Parris (Eric Godfree)

Lovejoy - Edgar Carson (Al Hughes)

McIntosh County Academy - Gary Mintier (Keith Gosse)

Miller County - Open (Frank Killingsworth)

Monroe Area - Joey Sulkowski (Matt Fligg)

Mount de Sales - Keith Hatcher (Robert Slocum)

Mount Zion-Jonesboro - Kevin Jones (Ervin Starr)

North Hall - David Bishop (Bob Christmas)

Oconee County - Travis Noland (Mitch Olson)

Oglethorpe County - Jimbo Hale (Larry Milligan)

Ola - Jared Zito (John Kovzel)

Osborne - Byron McCall (Xarvia Smith)

Parkview - Eric Godfree (Cecil Flowe)

Redan - Roderick Moore (Willie Griffieth)

Richmond Hill - Open (Lyman Guy)

Rockmart - Bin Turner (Dan Duff)

Schley County - Open (Josh Kemp)

Social Circle - Chad Estes (Ron Sebree)

South Cobb - Open (Michael Youngblood)

Stephens County - Frank Barden (Travis Noland)

Stone Mountain - Open (Dante Ferguson)

Strong Rock Christian - Tommy Webb (Mark Miller)

Thomson - Open (Milan Turner)

Toombs County - Lyman Guy (Steve Versprille)

Twiggs County - Dexter Copeland (Jeb Stewart)

Upson-Lee - Tommy Parks (Tommy Watson)

Walker - Open (John East)

Ware County - Open (Ed Dudley)

Winder-Barrow - Heath Webb (David Wagner)

Woodland-Stockbridge - Steve Davenport (Scott Schmitt)

Reader Comments ...