Prep Zone

Atlanta high school sports news from The Atlanta Journal-Constitution

Daily Trivia: 2013 state champs that began the season unranked

Which 2013 state champions began the season unranked? (Answer Tuesday)

Answer to Friday's question: Head coaches who have not returned to a defending state championship team the past three seasons are Steve DeVoursney (2013 Griffin, now Cairo's defensive coordinator), T. McFerrin (2012 Jefferson, retired) and Franklin Stephens (2011 Tucker, hired at Lamar County). The most recent season in which a coach left following a state title was 2006, when Peachtree Ridge's Blair Armstrong left for Banks County and Peach County's Rance Gillespie took a job as offensive coordinator at Georgia Southern.

Produced by Georgia High School Football Daily, a free e-mail newsletter. To join the mailing list, click here.

Reader Comments ...