Prep Zone

Atlanta high school sports news from The Atlanta Journal-Constitution

Daily List: Seven coaches who led three schools to the semifinals

Head coaches Franklin Stephens of Ware County and Jeff Herron of Prince Avenue Christian joined an elite group on Friday when they reached the semifinals with their third different school. Here is the list of seven coaches in GHSA history who have done that.

Charlie Brake

1951 Warrenton

1955 Morgan County

1960-62, 1964, 1967, 1971 Westminster

Jeff Herron

1999 Oconee County

2002-04, 2007-09 Camden County

2015 Prince Avenue Christian

Mike Hodges

1978 Miller County

1982-83 West Rome

1985, 1988 Thomasville

1998-99 Cairo

  1. McFerrin

1969 Lithonia

1971 Forest Park

1980-82 Peachtree

1995 Elbert County

2012 Jefferson

Dexter Poss

1957 North Habersham

1961 Claxton

1980 Evans

Franklin Stephens

2007-08, 2010-11 Tucker

2012-13 Lamar County

2015 Ware County

Charlie Winslette

1984 Statesboro

1985 West Rome

1989, 1993 Greene-Taliaferro

1997 Tift County

Produced by Georgia High School Football Daily, a free e-mail newsletter. To join the mailing list, click here.

Reader Comments ...