Prep Zone

Atlanta high school sports news from The Atlanta Journal-Constitution

Daily List: Most victories by schools that have closed

Citing declining enrollment, the Dougherty County Board of Education voted to close Albany High School in June. Dougherty County now has three GHSA high schools - Dougherty, Monroe and Westover. Albany's football teams suffered five winless seasons over the past 11 years, including 2016. But Albany's football history was rich. The Indians first played football in 1913, and they won state titles in 1939, 1943 and 1959. It is the alma mater of five-time Pro Bowl player and three-time Super Bowl winner Bart Oates. Albany's 506 documented victories are the second-most of any closed school in GHSA history.

545 - *Americus (2003)

506 - Albany (2016)

441 - Waycross (1993)

367 - R.E. Lee (1991)

367 - Avondale (2010)

351 - Athens (1969)

322 - Lanier (1969)

321 - *Moultrie (1977)

313 - West Point (1985)

305 - North Fulton (1990)

*Americus and Moultrie were consolidated with other schools to form new schools that retained their nicknames. Some historians merge their football histories with Americus-Sumter (Panthers) and Colquitt County (Packers). The GHSFHA treats them separately.

Source: GHSFHA

Produced by Georgia High School Football Daily, a free e-mail newsletter. To join the mailing list, click here.

Reader Comments ...