Prep Zone

Atlanta high school sports news from The Atlanta Journal-Constitution

All-region teams: Wynn, Barron, Martin, Umerah earn top honors in 7-A

Here is the all-region team for 7-A, as voted by the league’s coaches:

Offensive players of the year: RB Devin Wynn, Greene County, Sr., and RB Ahmad Barron, Tattnall Square, Sr.

Defensive players of the year: LB Keyshawn Martin, Lincoln County, Sr., and DE Tobe Umerah, Stratford Academy, Jr.

Special teams players of the year: Mason Cronic, Washington-Wilkes, Sr., and Nathan Hunt, Stratford Academy, Jr.

Coach of the year: Chance Jones, Tattnall Square


QB - Javon Reid, Lincoln County, Jr.

QB - Dalton Cox, First Presbuterian, Jr.

RB - Kasey Sanders, Stratford Academy, Jr.

RB - Jamon Height, Twiggs County, Sr.

RB - Javoris Smith, Twiggs County, Jr.

RB - Akeem Jackson, Wilkinson County, Sr.

RB - Quay Hartfield, Lincoln County, Sr.

RB - Destin Mack, Tattnall Square, Jr.

TE - Thomas Curry, Twiggs County, Jr.

WR - Titus Moore, First Presbyterian, Jr.

WR - Duke Roberts, Lincoln County, Jr.

WR - Deondre Lester, Washington-Wilkes, So.

WR - DeMonta Walls, Hancock Central, Sr.

WR - Larry Jones, Wilkinson County, Sr.

OL - Anton Kilpatrick, Greene County, So.

OL - Coleman Rumsey, Tattnall Square, Sr.

OL - Chandler Whittington, Tattnall Square, Jr.

OL - Thomas McBride, First Presbyterian, Sr.

OL - E.J. Tobler, First Presbyterian, Sr.

OL - David Matlock, Stratford Academy, Sr.

OL - Justin Griffin, Stratford Academy, Sr.

OL - Levi Thompson, Twiggs County, Sr.

OL - Mitch Matthews, Lincoln County, Sr.

OL - Jackson Wheeler, Lincoln County, Sr.

ATH - Armaun Smith, First Presbyterian, Jr.

ATH - Jarvis Collins, Warren County, Sr.

ATH - Adrian Hardwick, Mount de Sales, Jr.

ATH - Quintavian Cullars, Washington-Wilkes, Sr.


DE - Cardrez Slocumb, Warren County, Sr.

DE - Anthony Grimes, Greene County, Sr.

DE - Demarcus Mims, Wilkinson County, So.

DL - Jeffrey Jones, Twiggs County, Sr.

DL - Nathaniel Freeney, Twiggs County, Sr.

DL - Christian Rogers, Tattnall Square, Sr.

DL - Sean Brown, Tattnall Square, Sr.

DL - Jourdain Irvin, Stratford Academy, Jr.

DL - DeVonte Pearson, Hancock Central, Sr.

OLB - Zantez Hudson, Warren County, Jr.

OLB - Larson McDaniel, Stratford Academy, Jr.

LB - Devion Height, Twiggs County, Sr.

LB - Dayton Steinmeyer, Tattnall Square, Sr.

LB - Will Pounds, Mount de, Sales, Sr.

LB - Hunter Brock, Washington-Wilkes, Sr.

LB - Montorious Hall, Hancock Central, Sr.

LB - Devin Owens, Washington-Wilkes, Sr.

LB - Luke Higdon, Greene County, Sr.

LB - Clinton Richardson, Greene County, Sr.

LB - Jaquavius Fowler, Warren County, Sr.

LB - Jarkevin Clark, Warren County, Sr.

DB - Ty Elam, Lincoln County, Sr.

DB - Sammie Mayweather, Hancock Central, Sr.

DB - Brandon Mays, Wilkinson County, Jr.

DB - Mikel Adams, Greene County, Jr.

DB - Antoine Davis, Tattnall Square, So.

ATH - Devoyia Tucker, Hancock Central, Sr.

PK - Jorge Reyes, Greene County, Sr.

Produced by Georgia High School Football Daily, a free e-mail newsletter.

Reader Comments ...