Prep Zone

Atlanta high school sports news from The Atlanta Journal-Constitution

All-region teams: Leary, Byck, Coney are players of year in 3-A

Here is the all-region team for 3-A, as voted by the league’s coaches:


Players of the year: RB/LB Jalen Leary, Calvary Day, Jr., and RB Adam Byck, Savannah Country Day, Sr.

Offensive player of the year: RB Eric Davidson, Savannah Christian, Sr.

Athlete of the year: WR/DB J.P. Palmer, McIntosh County Academy, Sr.

Defensive player of the year: LB Taequan Washington, Calvary Day, Sr.

First-team offense

QB - Denver Anthony, McIntosh County Academy, So.

RB - Craig Ware, Portal, Sr.

RB - Myles Freeman, Claxton, Jr.

OL - Jamie McClellan, Calvary Day, Sr.

OL - Dylan McMahon, Savannah Christian, Jr.

OL - Hoston Robinson, Claxton, Sr.

OL - Bachman Weaver, Savannah Country Day, Sr.

OL - Cam Evans, McIntosh County Academy, Sr.

WR - Michael Campbell, McIntosh County Academy, Sr.

WR - Grant Thomas, Calvary Day, Jr.

WR - DeVon Hagan, Claxton, Jr.

WR - Win Johns, Savannah Country Day, Jr.

TE - Christopher Pendleton, Savannah Country Day, Jr.

PK - Hawkins Pindar, Savannah Country Day, Sr.

First-team defense

DL - Robert Williams, Calvary Day, Sr.

DL - Doveon Hayward, Claxton, So.

DL - Clay Dekle, Savannah Country Day, Jr.

DL - Jay Harris, McIntosh County Academy, Sr.

DL - Syyid Stevens, Calvary Day, Jr.

DL - D'Quan Douse, Calvary Day, Jr.

DL - Andre' Miller, Savannah Country Day, So.

LB - Christian Davis, Calvary Day, Sr.

LB - Jonathan Palmer, Savannah Country Day, Sr.

LB - Jalen Williams, Portal, Jr.

LB - Jason Hagan, Savannah Christian, Jr.

DB - Payne Drake, McIntosh County Academy, Sr.

DB - Craig Powell, Claxton, Sr.

DB - Jaydon Grant, Calvary Day, Jr.

DB - Nate Moon, Savannah Christian, So.

DB - Matthew Gompels, Savannah Country Day, Sr.

P - Noah Chumley, Savannah Christian, Jr.

Second-team offense

QB - Karon Taylor, Claxton, Fr.

QB - Jordan Grant, Savannah Christian, Jr.

RB - Kelstin Morgan, Claxton, Sr.

OL - Chandler Blackburn, Claxton, Sr.

OL - Fuches Lewis II, Calvary Day, Fr.

OL - Sawyer Smallwood, Savannah Country Day, Sr.

OL - Will Dekle, Savannah Country Day, Sr.

OL - Will Presley, Portal, Sr.

OL - Barrett McDonald, Savannah Christian, Sr.

OL - Colby Quinney, Savannah Christian, So.

OL - Courtney Jones, McIntosh County Academy, Sr.

WR - Ron Williams, Portal, Sr.

WR - Don Grant, McIntosh County Academy, Sr.

WR - Tykei Hines, Claxton, Fr.

WR - Marquell Brown, Savannah Christian, So.

WR - Nye Air Grant, Calvary Day, Jr.

TE - Vince Grassi, Calvary Day, Sr.

PK - Alan Gibbs, Calvary Day, Sr.

Second-team defense

DL - Nicholas Arrowood, Savannah Christian, Sr.

DL - Calton Bishop, Portal, Jr.

DL - Warren Brinson, Savannah Christian, So.

DL - Ryan Tabakian, Savannah Christian, Jr.

DE - Austin Anderson, McIntosh County Academy, Sr.

DE - James World, McIntosh County Academy, Sr.

DE - Wesely Hagins, Portal, Fr.

LB - Davis Gaylord, Calvary Day, Jr.

LB - Danny Carter, McIntosh County Academy, Jr.

LB - CJ Nugara, Savannah Country Day, Jr.

LB - Dwayne Ruff, Calvary Day, Jr.

DB - Matthew Mims, Savannah Country Day, Jr.

DB - Devonta Brown, Portal, Jr.

DB - Omar Burroughs, Savannah Christian, Fr.

DB - Shakari Denson, Claxton, Fr.

DB - Jacob Lingle, McIntosh County Academy, Jr.

P - Jose Camacho, Claxton, Sr.


Player of the year: RB/LB Robert Coney, Jenkins County, Sr.

Offensive player of the year: QB Brooks Norton, Johnson County, Sr.

Defensive player of the year: MLB Peyton Mercer, Emanuel County Institute, Sr.

Athlete of the year: RB/DB Clayton Harvey, Montgomery County, Sr.

First-team offense

OL - Austin Sherrod, Emanuel County Institute, Jr.

OL - Chandler Shockley, Emanuel County Institute, Jr.

OL - Jake Martin, Emanuel County Institute, Jr.

OL - Tyler Thompson, Emanuel County Institute, Jr.

OL - Duren Wood, Johnson County, Sr.

OL - Bryce Joyner, Jenkins County, Sr.

QB - Kris Daniels, Montgomery County, Sr.

RB - Brandon Mackey, Wheeler County, Jr.

RB - Eric Dixon, Emanuel County Institute, Jr.

RB - Tysean Carswell, Emanuel County Institute, Sr.

WR - Shaw Robinson, Montgomery County, Sr.

WR - Bran Rawlings, Johnson County, Sr.

WR - Dazhun Steele, Emanuel County Institute, Sr.

TE - Randon Hutcheson, Treutlen, Jr.

Athlete - Bobby McNear, Emanuel County Institute, Sr.

First-team defense

DE - Curtis Fann, Emanuel County Institute, Jr.

DE - Justin Wilkerson, Emanuel County Institute, Sr.

DL - Jaheim Wilson, Montgomery County, So.

DL - Tyler Ellis, Jenkins County, Jr.

DL - Peter James, Emanuel County Institute, Sr.

LB - Hunter Henry, Emanuel County Institute, Jr.

LB - Randy Shoemake, Montgomery County, Jr.

LB - Tristan Denmark, Montgomery County, Jr.

LB/DB - Jujuan Major, Jenkins County, So.

DB - DaQuan Jackson, Montgomery County, Jr.

DB - Torrence Parker, Wheeler County, Sr.

DB - George Bady, Emanuel County Institute, Sr.

DB - Cody Collins, Emanuel County Institute, Sr.

Special Team - John Joiner, Emanuel County Institute, So.

Special Team - Trevor Byrd, Treutlen, Jr.

Second-team offense

OL - Kam Wideman, Montgomery County, So.

OL - A'Viyen Anthony, Wheeler County, Sr.

OL - Bradley Marsh, Wheeler County, Jr.

OL - Garrison Underwood, Jenkins County, Sr.

OL - Cannon Griffin, Jenkins County, Sr.

OL - Mikey Milton, Treutlen, Jr.

QB - Sabo Mitchell, Treutlen, So.

RB - Tafarjae Jordan, Treutlen, Jr.

RB - Stefan Robertson, Jenkins County, Jr.

RB - Alroy Parham, Jenkins County, Jr.

WR - Jalen Brown, Johnson County, So.

WR - Ty Cannon, Johnson County, Jr.

WR - Pooh Davis, Johnson County, Jr.

TE - Ethan Stokes, Wheeler County, Jr.

Athlete - Andre Young, Jenkins County, Jr.

Second-team defense

DE - Cheney Knight, Jenkins County, Sr.

DE - Denez Foster, Wheeler County, Sr.

DL - Ty Snead, Johnson County, Jr.

DL - Jeremiah Pullens, Emanuel County Institute, So.

DL - Dominique Stephens, Jenkins County, Sr.

LB - Jarrett Hines, Johnson County, Sr.

LB - Chris Stone, Treutlen, Jr.

LB - Ty Evans, Jenkins County, Jr.

LB/DB - Zach Horton, Wheeler County, Jr.

DB - Raul Carillo, Emanuel County Institute, Sr.

DB - Kamron Jordan, Treutlen, So.

DB - John Shivers, Treutlen, Sr.

DB - Cam Brady, Jenkins County, Jr.

Special Team - Jake Edwards, Johnson County, Sr.

Special Team - Mitchell Kersey, Treutlen, Jr.

Produced by Georgia High School Football Daily, a free e-mail newsletter. To join the mailing list, click here.

Reader Comments ...