Prep Zone

Atlanta high school sports news from The Atlanta Journal-Constitution

All-region teams: Lanier's Taylor named top player in 8-AAAAAA

Here is the all-region team for 8-AAAAAA, as voted by the league’s coaches:

Player of the year: LB Tyler Taylor, Lanier, Sr.

Offensive player of the year: RB Tre McMillan, Dacula, Jr.

Defensive player of the year: DB Tyree Robinson, Gainesville, Sr.

Two-way player of the year: RB/LB Ty Harris, Dacula, Sr.

Coach of the year: Tommy Jones, Dacula

First-team offense

QB - Brock Landis, Winder-Barrow, Jr.

RB - Tywon Reaves, Lanier, Jr.

RB - Michael Babers, Habersham Central, Sr.

WR - Jim Barnett, Gainesville, Jr.

WR - Ethan Morris, Apalachee, Sr.

WR - Trey Hurt, Habersham Central, Sr.

OL - Lashawn Jones, Gainesville, Jr.

OL - Collin Foster, Lanier, Jr.

OL - Tyler Brown, Dacula, Sr.

OL - Cameron Best, Winder-Barrow, Sr.

OL - Dez Ikpa, Dacula, Sr.

ATH - Deon Williams, Winder-Barrow, Sr.

PK - Brandon Reyna, Gainesville, Sr.

PK - Hampton Hotard, Habersham Central, Sr.

KR - Calvin Murphy, Gainesville, Sr.

First-team defense

DL - Michael Allen, Lanier, Sr.

DL - Brandon Jones, Dacula, Sr.

DL - Austin Frady, Habersham Central, Sr.

DL - Logan Cash, Winder-Barrow, So.

LB - Juwuan Jones, Lanier, Sr.

LB - Kameron Brown, Lanier, So.

LB - Kenny Holder, Dacula, Sr.

LB - Josh Harrison, Gainesville, Sr.

DB - Jaylon Jones, Dacula, Sr.

DB - Chase Isler, Dacula, Sr.

DB - Gunner Wright, Apalachee, Sr.

DB - Kamden Young, Gainesville, Sr.

P - Drake Power, Winder-Barrow, Sr.

Second-team offense

QB - Shayne Buckingham, Dacula, Jr.

RB - K.D. Smith, Gainesville, Sr.

RB - Jamar Mack, Winder-Barrow, So.

WR - Aaron Wood, Habersham Central, Sr.

WR - Casey Thurmond, Winder-Barrow, Sr.

WR - Kenny Severe, Dacula, Jr.

OL - A.J. Markham, Gainesville, Jr.

OL - Dylan Brown, Winder-Barrow, Sr.

OL - Austin Manning, Dacula, Sr.

OL - Nathan Hodnett, Apalachee, Fr.

OL - Parker Miller, Apalachee, Jr.

ATH - Noah Fritz, Lanier, Sr.

ATH - Jake Jones, Habersham Central, Sr.

PK/P - Phillip Hoke, Dacula, Sr.

KR - Gavin Phillips, Winder-Barrow, Jr.

Second-team defense

DL - Herve Aklotsoe, Gainesville, Sr.

DL - Kevon Mooney, Winder-Barrow, Jr.

DL - Peyton Bergman, Lanier, Jr.

DL - Dylan Holcomb, Habersham Central, Sr.

DL - Jason Craig, Apalachee, Sr.

LB - Mason White, Winder-Barrow, Sr.

LB - Kris Montague, Gainesville, Sr.

LB - Keith Harris, Gainesville, Jr.

LB - Babila Fomuteh, Dacula, Sr.

DB - Josh Sims, Winder-Barrow, Jr.

DB - Carson Moore, Habersham Central, Jr.

DB - Quez Harrison, Gainesville, So.

DB - Shemar Esson, Dacula, Sr.

DB - Will Smith, Apalachee, Sr.

Team First - Allen Daniels, Dacula, Sr.

Team First - Javonne Hughes, Winder-Barrow, Sr.

Produced by Georgia High School Football Daily, a free e-mail newsletter. To join the mailing list, click here.

Reader Comments ...