Prep Zone

Atlanta high school sports news from The Atlanta Journal-Constitution

All-region teams: Jefferson's Wood named top player in 8-AAAA

Here is the all-region team for 8-AAAA, as voted by the league’s coaches:

Player of the year: RB Colby Wood, Jefferson, Sr.

Offensive player of the year: QB Max Johnson, Oconee County, So.

Defensive player of the year: LB DeMarcus Mitchell, St. Pius, Jr.

Coach of the year: Paul Standard, St. Pius

First-team offense

QB - Bryce Moore, Jefferson, Sr.

TB - Hassan Brown, Stephens County, Sr.

TB - Jarvis Stevens, Oconee County, Sr.

FB - Scott Braswell, St. Pius, Sr.

WR - Cayden Maxwell, Stephens County, Jr.

WR - Traveon Latimore, Madison County, Jr.

WR - Jermaine Browner, North Oconee, Sr.

WR - Blaize Williams, Oconee County, Sr.

WR - Sammy Elegreet, Jefferson, Jr.

TE - Garmon Randolph, Jefferson, Jr.

OL - Jace Bernales, Oconee County, Sr.

OL - Logan Garner, Jefferson, Sr.

OL - Connor Brown, St. Pius, Jr.

OL - Richard Brown, St. Pius, Sr.

OL - Harrison Clark, North Oconee, Sr.

OL - Isaiah Crawford, Stephens County, Sr.

PK - Thomas Dowis, North Oconee, So.

First-team defense

DL - Daron Goodrum, Oconee County, Jr.

DL - Gavin Walker, Stephens County, Sr.

DL - Jackson Bailey, Madison County, Sr.

DL - Marco Dinkins, St. Pius, Sr.

DL - Houston Ripley, North Oconee, Jr.

LB - Cole Beitzel, Stephens County, Sr.

LB - J.T. Dukes, North Oconee, Jr.

LB - Andrew Fleming, Oconee County, Sr.

LB - Woody Barks, North Oconee, So.

LB - Adam Metts, Madison County, So.

LB - Colby Clark, Jefferson, So.

DB - Ty Paschal, Oconee County, Sr.

DB - Brandon Wheeler, Stephens County, Sr.

DB - Colby Smith, Madison County, So.

DB - Zach Ranson, St. Pius, Jr.

DB - Zac Corbin, Jefferson, Jr.

P - Nolan Aldrich, St. Pius, Jr.

SP - Jacob Pajer, St. Pius, So.

Second-team offense

QB - Jackson Bell, Stephens County, Sr.

TB - Jason Jones, St. Pius, Jr.

TB - Michael Benefield, St. Pius, Jr.

FB - Justin Cole, Jefferson, Sr.

WR - C.J. Brewer, Oconee County, Sr.

WR - Cam Congolose, Oconee County, Sr.

WR - Griff Pruitt, Stephens County, Sr.

TE - Garrett Paxson, North Oconee, Jr.

OL - Hunter Griffith, Jefferson, Sr.

OL - J.T. Middleton, Jefferson, Jr.

OL - Luke Ver Meulen, St. Pius, Sr.

OL - Mike Seay, Stephens County, Jr.

OL - Reed Smith, North Oconee, Sr.

OL - Winston Andrews, St. Pius, Sr.

PK - Hayden Kilgore, Jefferson, Jr.

Second-team defense

DL - Cale Compton, Jefferson, Sr.

DL - Tyler Poole, North Oconee, Jr.

DL - Trenton Pressley, Madison County, Sr.

LB - Matthew Nilsen, Jefferson, Sr.

LB - Charles Cochran, Stephens County, Jr.

LB - Patrick Molnar, St. Pius, Jr.

LB - Adam Weyand, North Oconee, So.

DB - Nick Joiner, St. Pius, So.

DB - Terrell Wall, Jefferson, Sr.

DB - Grant Fordham, North Oconee, Sr.

P - Addison Clay, Jefferson, Sr.

SP - Jalen Gary, Oconee County, So.

Honorable mention: Jefferson - Kade McNally, Ryan Godfrey, Logan Whidby, Seth Glausier, Clay Pender. Madison County - Cody Hawkes, Austin Hill, Tremaris Haynes, Trey Bales, Dalton Stuchell. North Oconee - Turner Daniel, D.J. Defabio, Spencer Massie, Hunter Payne, Turner Hargrave. Oconee County - Jared Hood, Dylan Petway, Jamal Davis, Tre Whitehead, Derek Chaney. Stephens County - Daniel Brock, Garrison Walker, Kamon Taylor, Kole Rogers, Tae Thorton. St. Pius - Connor Egan, Will Laughter, William Kibler, Charlie Albert, Chris Miller.

Produced by Georgia High School Football Daily, a free e-mail newsletter. To join the mailing list, click here.

Reader Comments ...