Get Schooled

Your source to discuss and learn about education in Georgia and the nation and share opinions and news with Maureen Downey

Gov. Deal names Education Reform Commission members. A notable bunch.

From the Governor's Office today:

Gov. Nathan Deal today named the individuals who will serve on the Education Reform Commission that he announced during his State of the State address.

The commission will study the state’s education system, including its funding formula, and provide recommendations intended to improve the system, increase access to early learning programs, recruit and retain high-quality instructors and expand school options for Georgia’s families.

“My vision for K-12 education in Georgia is a system driven by student need that provides local school and district leaders with real control and flexibility,” said Deal.

“With this commission now in place, it is my hope that we will work together to make education more accessible and effective in preparing our state’s students for the rigors of college and the workforce. Georgia families depend on our classrooms, and now it’s time we take the responsibility in full to provide the high-quality, technologically advanced education they so deserve. I fully anticipate this commission will help bring my vision to reality and I’m grateful for the members' willingness to serve.”

The commission will convene throughout the year to comprehensively review the state’s education system and QBE funding formula in order to provide recommendations on possible executive, legislative and agency fixes.

The recommendations will be sent to Deal by Aug. 1 of this year, with some going into effect as early as the 2016-2017 school year. Chuck Knapp, former president of the University of Georgia, will chair both the commission and the subcommittee on funding reform.

Commission members are listed below:


Madelyn Adams,  Director of Community Benefit, Kaiser Permanente of Georgia

Matt Arthur, Deputy Commissioner, Technical College System of Georgia

Robert Avossa, Superintendent, Fulton County Schools

Greg Beadles, Executive Vice President, Chief Administrative and Financial Officer AMB Sports and Entertainment

Brad Bryant, Director, REACH Scholarship program

Brooks Coleman, Chairman, House Education Committee, Georgia General Assembly

Tom Dickson, Chairman, House Education Appropriations Subcommittee, Georgia General Assembly

Mike Dudgeon, State Representative, Georgia General Assembly

Kent Edwards, Superintendent, Carrolton City Schools

Terry England,  Chairman, House Appropriations Committee, Georgia General Assembly

Tina Fernandez, Partner, Bellweather Education Partners

Mike Glanton, State Representative, Georgia General Assembly

Barbara Hampton, Sixth Congressional District Member, State Board of Education

Tyler Harper, Chairman, Senate Public Safety Committee, Georgia General Assembly

Hannah Heck,  Attorney, Vice Chair and Founding Board Member Westside Atlanta Charter School

Jack Hill, Chairman, Senate Appropriations Committee, Georgia General Assembly

Kylie Holley, Principal/Superintendent, Pataula Charter Academy

Bonnie Holliday, Executive Director,, Georgia Charter Schools Commission

Amy Jacobs, Commissioner, Georgia Department of Early Care and Learning

Audrey King, South Region External Affairs Manager, Georgia Power Company

Cynthia Kuhlman, Director of Educational Achievement, Cousins Family Foundation, Inc.

Fran Millar, Chairman, Senate Higher Education Committee,  Georgia General Assembly

Nels Peterson, Vice Chancellor for Legal Affairs, University System of Georgia

Hunter Pierson, Vice Chairman, New Schools New Orleans, co-founder of Young Professionals for Education Equity

Noris Price, Superintendent, Baldwin County Schools

Elizabeth Rhodes Retired Teacher, Educators First

Will Schofield, Superintendent, Hall County Schools

Freddie Powell Simms, State Senator, Georgia General Assembly

Lindsey Tippins, Chairman, Senate Education and Youth Committee, Georgia General Assembly

Anthony Townsend, Principal, Locust Grove Middle School, Henry County

Alvin Wilbanks, Superintendent, Gwinnett County Schools

Pam Williams,  2011 Georgia Teacher of the Year, Appling County High School

Dick Yarborough, Columnist, retired BellSouth Corporation executive, managing director of the Atlanta Committee for the Olympic Games

Reader Comments ...

About the Author

Maureen Downey has written editorials and opinion pieces about local, state and federal education policy since the 1990s.