Georgia Tech Blog

A sports blog about the Georgia Tech Yellow Jackets, from The Atlanta Journal-Constitution

Georges-Hunt named second-team All-ACC by coaches

Georgia Tech guard Marcus Georges-Hunt was evaluated more favorably by the ACC’s coaches than he was its media. Georges-Hunt was named to the All-ACC second team Monday, a day after he was named to the third team of the media’s All-ACC team.

Georges-Hunt essentially swapped spots with Louisville’s Damion Lee, who was named to the media’s second team. Players receive votes regardless of position. In the media voting, Georges-Hunt received the 11th most points and Lee the 10th most. In the coaches voting, Georges-Hunt was No. 10 and Lee No. 11.

Georges-Hunt was seventh in the league in scoring at 16.6 points per game. After moving to point guard full-time for the Virginia game Jan. 9, he averaged 17.9 points and 3.8 assists per game.

Tech plays Clemson in the second round of the ACC tournament Wednesday at 7 p.m. in Washington.


All-Atlantic Coast Conference

(5 points for first-team vote, 3 points for second-team, 1 point for third-team)


First Team

Brice Johnson, Sr., North Carolina                                                *75

Malcolm Brogdon, Sr., Virginia                                                      *75

Grayson Allen, So., Duke                                                                     69

Jaron Blossomgame, Jr., Clemson                                                  65

Cat Barber, Jr., NC State                                                                       60


Second Team

Demetrius Jackson, Jr., Notre Dame                                             45

Sheldon McClellan, Sr., Miami                                                          44

Brandon Ingram, Fr., Duke                                                                41

Michael Gbinije, Sr., Syracuse                                                           36

Marcus Georges-Hunt, Sr., Georgia Tech                                     32


Third Team

Damion Lee, Sr., Louisville                                                                30

Anthony Gill, Sr., Virginia                                                                   21

Michael Young, Jr., Pittsburgh                                                         15

Zach Auguste, Sr., Notre Dame                                                           9

Tonye Jekiri, Sr., Miami                                                                         9


Honorable Mention:

Malik Beasley, Florida State, Fr.; Zach LeDay, Jr., Virginia Tech; Chinanu Onuaku, So., Louisville; London Perrantes, Jr., Virginia; Devin Thomas, Sr., Wake Forest.


All-ACC Freshman Team                                                                   

Brandon Ingram, Duke                                                                       15

Malik Beasley, Florida State                                                              15

Dwayne Bacon, Florida State                                                           14

Malachi Richardson, Syracuse                                                         14

Bryant Crawford, Wake Forest                                                          8


All-ACC Defensive Team                                                                   

Malcolm Brogdon, Sr., Virginia                                                        15

Tonye Jekiri, Sr., Miami                                                                      12

Michael Gbinije, Sr., Syracuse                                                             8

Landry Nnoko, Sr., Clemson                                                                8

Chinanu Onuaku, So., Louisville                                                         6

Brice Johnson, Sr., North Carolina                                                    6


ACC Player of the Year                                                                        

Malcolm Brogdon, Sr., Virginia

ACC Freshman of the Year                                                                

Brandon Ingram, Duke

ACC Coach of the Year                                                                         

Jim Larrañaga, Miami

ACC Defensive Player of the Year                                                

Malcolm Brogdon, Sr., Virginia

ACC Most Improved Players of the Year                               

Jaron Blossomgame, Jr., Clemson

Grayson Allen, So., Duke

Sixth Man of the Year                                                                          

Isaiah Hicks, Jr., North Carolina


* Unanimous selection

Reader Comments ...

About the Author

Ken Sugiura covers Georgia Tech sports for the Atlanta Journal-Constitution.