Georgia Tech Blog

A sports blog about the Georgia Tech Yellow Jackets, from The Atlanta Journal-Constitution

ACC coaches honor Johnson, 7 Jackets

Georgia Tech put seven team members on the coaches All-ACC team. As was the case with the media All-ACC team, the Yellow Jackets had no first-team members. The team was released Wednesday.

The coaches also voted coach Paul Johnson their coach of the year, receiving 10 of 13 possible votes (coaches were not allowed to for themselves or players on their own teams). Tech had the same seven players voted to the media team – quarterback Justin Thomas, B-back Zach Laskey, guard Shaquille Mason and wide receiver DeAndre Smelter (all second-team offense), defensive tackle Adam Gotsis (second-team defense) and safety Jamal Golden and linebacker Quayshawn Nealy (third-team defense).

All but Mason were first-time selections. There was slight variation between the two teams.

Adam Gotsis – second team coaches, media

Jamal Golden – third team coaches, media

Zach Laskey – second team coaches, media

Shaquille Mason – second team coaches, media

Quayshawn Nealy – second team media, third team coaches

DeAndre Smelter – second team coaches, third team media

Justin Thomas – third team media, second team coaches

No Tech players received votes for the individual player of the year awards, which went to Pittsburgh running back James Conner (player of the year, offensive player of the year), Clemson defensive end Vic Beasley (defensive player of the year), Miami quarterback Brad Kaaya (rookie of the year, offensive rookie of the year) and Virginia safety Quin Blanding (defensive rookie of the year).

B-back Synjyn Days received honorable mention.

Reader Comments ...

About the Author

Ken Sugiura covers Georgia Tech sports for the Atlanta Journal-Constitution.