Atlanta Life and Culture

The AJC Features Team spotlights arts previews, reviews, profiles, news features and breaking news on Atlanta's cultural and life scene.

What to do in Atlanta: Performing arts | Oct. 28-Nov. 4


Keep the Halloween spirit going with "The Sleepy Hollow Experience," "The Crucible," "The Ghastly Dreadfuls" and "Young Frankenstein."

PERFORMING ARTS  

“Informed Consent.” Deborah Zoe Laufer’s new play is about a genetic anthropologist whose research on a Native American tribe is motivated by personal issues. Through Nov. 8. $25-$30. Horizon Theatre, 1083 Austin Ave. N.E., Atlanta. www.horizontheatre.com. Read our review of "Informed Consent" here.

The Sleepy Hollow Experience." Through Nov. 1. $25. Serenbe Playhouse, 10950 Hutchesons Ferry Road, Chattahoochee Hills. 770-463-1110, serenbeplayhouse.com.

"The Crucible." Through Nov. 1. $18-$39. Atlanta Shakespeare Company at the New American Shakespeare Tavern, 499 Peachtree St. N.E., Atlanta. www.shakespearetavern.com. 

“The Ghastly Dreadfuls: Raising Spirits.” Through Oct. 31. $25. Ages 18 and up. Center for Puppetry Arts, 1404 Spring St. N.W., Atlanta. www.puppet.org. Read our review of "The Ghastly Dreadfuls" here.

“Reefer Madness the Musical.” Through Nov. 1. $20. Oglethorpe University Theatre at Conant Performing Arts Center, 4484 Peachtree Road, Atlanta. www.facebook.com/OglethorpeTheatre.

“Dracula.” Through Nov. 1. $10-$15. Newnan Theatre Company, 24 First Ave., Newnan. www.newnantheatre.org.

“Grace and Glorie.” by Tom Ziegler. Through Nov. 1. $20; $17 in advance. Academy Theatre at Stockbridge Community Arts Center, 146 Burke St., Stockbridge. www.academytheatre.org.

Mel Brooks’ “Young Frankenstein.” Musical based on the Mel Brooks comedy. Through Nov. 8. $38-$58. Atlanta Lyric Theatre at the Cobb County Civic Center, 548 S. Marietta Parkway S.E., Marietta. atlantalyrictheatre.com. Read our review of "Young Frankenstein" here.

“The 3 Little Pigs & More.” Through Nov. 8. $16.50. Center for Puppetry Arts, 1404 Spring St. N.W., Atlanta. www.puppet.org.

“Fetch Clay, Make Man.” Presented by True Colors Theatre Company. Through Nov. 2. $20-$50. Southwest Arts Center, 915 New Hope Road, Atlanta. 877-725-8849, www.truecolorstheatre.org. Read about "Fetch Clay Make Man" director Eric Little here.

“The Thrush & the Woodpecker.” Through Nov. 15. $21.60- $43.20. Actor’s Express, 887 W. Marietta St., Atlanta. www.actors-express.com.

Margaret Cho. 8 p.m. Oct. 29. $29.50-$49.50. Tabernacle, 152 Luckie St. N.W., Atlanta. www.tabernacleatl.com. Read our interview with Margaret Cho here.

“De Cachetito Raspado (Cheek to Stubbled Cheek).” Presented by Bent Frequency & PromoMusica International. 8 p.m. Oct. 29. Free. Rialto Center for the Arts, 80 Forsyth St. N.W., Atlanta. 461-312-0371, rialtocenter.org. Read more about Bent Frequency here.

“ThanksKilling the Musical.” Oct. 29-Nov. 28. $10.50-$22.50. 7 Stages Theatre, 1105 Euclid Ave. N.E., Atlanta. www.dadsgarage.com.

“Tell Me My Dream.” Written by Pearl Cleage especially for middle schoolers. Oct. 31-Nov. 8. $15-$25. Alliance Theatre, Woodruff Arts Center, 1280 Peachtree St. N.E., Atlanta. www.alliancetheatre.org.

“Chattrapati Shivaji – Great Indian Hero.” 2:30 p.m. Oct. 31. $12- $27. Infinite Energy Theater, 6400 Sugarloaf Parkway, Duluth. www.infiniteenergycenter.com.

So You Think You Can Dance. 8 p.m. Oct. 31. $42-$62. Cobb Energy Performing Arts Centre, 2800 Cobb Galleria Parkway, Atlanta. www.cobbenergycentre.com.

"The Reluctant Dragon." Presented by Birmingham Children’s Theatre. 11 a.m. and 2 p.m. Nov. 1. $10-$15. Marcus Jewish Community Center of Atlanta, 5342 Tilly Mill Road, Dunwoody. www.atlantajcc.org.

“Rodgers + Hammerstein’s Cinderella.” Nov. 3-8. $30-$135. Fox Theatre, 660 Peachtree St. N.E., Atlanta. foxtheatre.org.

“Letters From The Front.” Nov. 4-Dec. 6. $20-$35. Theatre in the Square, 11 Whitlock Ave, Marietta. www.theatreinthesquare.com.


Reader Comments ...


About the Author