Atlanta Life and Culture

The AJC Features Team spotlights arts previews, reviews, profiles, news features and breaking news on Atlanta's cultural and life scene.

36 Atlanta institutions to offer deals during inaugural Museum Week


“Visited any good museums lately?”

That could be a popular question across metro Atlanta later this month, replacing the traditional conversation starter, “Read any good books lately?”

Three dozen Atlanta museums and cultural destinations will offer special admission deals as part of the metro area’s first Museum Week, April 25 to May 1, it's being announced Monday.

Twenty eight, from long-time major attractions such at the Georgia Aquarium and High Museum of Art to new ones such as the College Football Hall of Fame and the newly expanded Delta Flight Museum, are offering two-for-one admission over those seven days. Eight others are making entry free.

The offers are being extended in conjunction with the 2015 American Alliance of Museums (AAM) annual meeting in Atlanta being held April 26-29. With the theme “Discover What’s New,” this inaugural Museum Week is designed to encourage the public to explore the metro area’s diverse cultural offerings.

“We encourage people to explore places that are new to them and to expand their understanding of the wealth of choices they have in Atlanta,” said Mary Pat Matheson, executive director of the Atlanta Botanical Garden.

Organizers, who expect thousands to take advantage of Museum Week options, said that they plan to make it an annual event.

Visit the Atlanta Convention and Visitors Bureau page, atlanta.net/museumweek, for full details as well as a downloadable coupon for the 2-for-1 offer.

Participating institutions:

Buy-one-get-one-free admission

Atlanta Botanical Garden (atlantabg.org)

Atlanta Cyclorama & Civil War Museum (atlantacyclorama.org)

Atlanta History Center (atlantahistorycenter.com)

Booth Western Art Museum (boothmuseum.org)

Braves Museum Hall of Fame (braves.com/tours)

The Breman Museum (thebreman.org)

Callanwolde Fine Arts Center (callanwolde.org)

Center for Puppetry Arts (puppet.org)

The Children’s Museum of Atlanta (childrensmuseumatlanta.org)

College Football Hall of Fame and Chick-fil-A Fan Experience (cfbhall.com)

Delta Flight Museum (deltamuseum.org)

Fernbank Museum of Natural History (fernbankmuseum.org)

Fernbank Science Center (fernbank.edu)

The Georgia Aquarium (georgiaaquarium.org)

Hammonds House Museum (hammondshouse.org)

High Museum of Art (high.org)

Historic Oakland Cemetery (oaklandcemetery.com)

Jimmy Carter Presidential Library & Museum (jimmycarterlibrary.gov)

Margaret Mitchell House (atlantahistorycenter.com/mmh)

Michael C. Carlos Museum (carlos.emory.edu)

Millennium Gate Museum (thegateatlanta.com)

Museum of Contemporary Art of Georgia (MOCA GA) (mocaga.org)

Museum of Design Atlanta (museumofdesign.org)

Oglethorpe University Museum of Art (museum.oglethorpe.edu)

Spelman College Museum of Fine Art (spelman.edu/museum)

Tellus Science Museum (tellusmuseum.org)

World of Coca-Cola (worldofcoca-cola.com)

The Wren’s Nest (wrensnest.org)

Free admission

CAU Art Galleries (www.cau.edu/art-galleries)

David J. Sencer CDC Museum (cdc.gov/museum)

Georgia Museum of Art (georgiamuseum.org)

The King Center (thekingcenter.org)

Martin Luther King, Jr. National Historic Site (nps.gov/malu)

Museum of History and Holocaust, KSU (historymuseum.kennesaw.edu)

Robert C. Williams American Museum of Papermaking at Ga Tech (paper.gatech.edu)

Zuckerman Museum of Art, KSU (zuckerman.kennesaw.edu)

 


Reader Comments ...


About the Blog

The AJC Features Team spotlights arts previews, reviews, profiles, news features and breaking news on Atlanta's cultural and life scene.