Kennesaw State will open 2018 season against Georgia State

  • AJC Sports
3:07 p.m Wednesday, Dec. 13, 2017 State Report
John Amis/For the AJC

Kennesaw State will open the 2018 season against Georgia State.

Two of Georgia’s newest college football programs will face each other for the first time Thursday, Aug. 30, in Atlanta. It will be the Owls’ first game against an FBS opponent.

Kennesaw State finished its second FCS season with a 12-2 record. Georgia State began playing football in 2010.

The Owls’ home opener at Fifth Third Bank Stadium is slated for Saturday, Sept. 15 against Alabama State.
Kennesaw State’s 11-game schedule includes five games at Fifth Third Bank Stadium -  including a non-conference game against Clark Atlanta (Sept. 22) - and a match-up against Jacksonville State at the Atlanta Braves' SunTrust Park.

The Nov. 17 game will be the first football game played at the Atlanta Braves’ new 41,000-seat ballpark, which opened in Cobb County last April.

2018 Kennesaw State Football ScheduleHome games in bold.
Thursday, Aug. 30: at Georgia State (Georgia State Stadium)
Thursday, Sept. 6: at Tennessee Tech
Saturday, Sept. 15: vs. Alabama State
Saturday, Sept. 22: vs. Clark Atlanta
Saturday, Sept. 29: vs. Samford
Saturday, Oct. 6: vs. Presbyterian
Saturday, Oct. 13: at Gardner-Webb
Saturday, Oct. 27: at Charleston Southern
Saturday, Nov. 3: vs. Campbell
Saturday, Nov. 10: at Monmouth
Saturday, Nov. 17: vs. Jacksonville State (SunTrust Park)

View full experience