You have reached your limit of free articles this month.

Enjoy unlimited access to myAJC.com

Starting at just 99¢ for 8 weeks.

GREAT REASONS TO SUBSCRIBE TODAY!

  • IN-DEPTH REPORTING
  • INTERACTIVE STORYTELLING
  • NEW TOPICS & COVERAGE
  • ePAPER
X

You have read of premium articles.

Get unlimited access to all of our breaking news, in-depth coverage and bonus content- exclusively for subscribers. Starting at just 99¢ for 8 weeks

X

Welcome to myAJC.com

This subscriber-only site gives you exclusive access to breaking news, in-depth coverage, exclusive interactives and bonus content.

You can read free articles of your choice a month that are only available on myAJC.com.

Understanding new Georgia car tax


On March 1, Georgia began to switch from the annual “birthday tax” on cars to a new type of car tax.   Any resident buying a car from now on will pay a one-time fee rather than the annual tax paid when registering the car. 

When you buy a vehicle, you’ll pay a one-time 6.5 percent tax.That percentage is scheduled to increase slightly each year.

If you bought a car from January 2012 to February 2013, you can choose whether you want to continue to pay the birthday tax or opt into the new system.

If you bought a car before January 2012, you’re still obligated to pay the birthday tax.The new law applies to all vehicles bought in Georgia, no matter where they are purchased. 

 People who move into Georgia with a car after March 1 will have to pay the new tax on any vehicles entering the state when they register their cars in Georgia. New out-of-state residents will have to pay half the fee up front and will have a year to pay the rest.

Vehicles passed between immediate family members — spouses, parents, children, siblings, grandparents or grandchildren — will pay a reduced fee of 0.5 percent of the car’s worth to title the vehicle, provided the full one-time title ad valorem tax already has been paid.

People who were exempt from paying the annual car tax, such as disabled veterans, are exempt from the new tax.

Vehicles that are older than 1985, and are not required to have titles, are only affected if the owner decides to get a title after March 1.

Vehicles that aren’t titled, such as boats and trailers, aren’t affected by the new law.

To calculate how much the new tax would cost you, see www.newtitletax.com.

Visit your county’s website for options on converting to the new system by fax, mail or phone. It’s free to convert to the new system, if the sales tax and ad valorem taxes you’ve already paid total at least 6.5 percent. If you paid less than that, you’ll have to pay the difference. Vehicles purchased out of state are not eligible to opt-in.

Source: Metro counties, Association County Commissioners of Georgia


Reader Comments ...


Next Up in Local

Atlanta forecast: Cool and dry weather ahead
Atlanta forecast: Cool and dry weather ahead
Georgia Republicans warn against Electoral College overhaul
Hillary Clinton and Donald Trump. Chip Somodevilla/Getty Images As Capitol Hill Democrats push to overhaul or do away with the Electoral College, some Georgia Republicans are sending a signal that the debate will go nowhere in the Peach State.
Driver dies after Maserati crashes into home
Driver dies after Maserati crashes into home
Bill Torpy at large: Street giveaway is as transparent as asphalt
Bill Torpy at large: Street giveaway is as transparent as asphalt
Off-duty Muslim NYPD officer allegedly threatened by man
Off-duty Muslim NYPD officer allegedly threatened by man
An off-duty New York Police Department officer who is a Muslim was allegedly threatened by a man Saturday after dropping off her son.
More Stories