Norcross officials will hold a grand opening ceremony for the city’s new Fire Station No. 1 Museum at 10:30 a.m. Dec. 3, adjacent to the Norcross Welcome Center and Museum, 189 Lawrenceville Street.
The Fire Station Museum has recently undergone a facelift to improve visitor experience. The museum’s centerpiece is a 1942 fire engine converted jeep that was restored by DeLeon Foundation committee members. The restored fire truck began its life as a truck converted to serve as a vehicle for the Norcross’ volunteer fire department.
The museum’s enhancements include oversized, brightly colored panels highlighting different aspects of fire history in Norcross along with fire-related memorabilia.