Candidates set for November elections for Fulton commission, 14 cities

The much-watched race for the mayor of Atlanta isn’t the only election happening in Fulton County in November. In fact, it’s one of dozens.

Fulton County Commission Chairman John Eaves, who resigned the seat last week to join that race, will have to be replaced. Qualifying for that seat takes place Sept. 18, 19 and 20.

Candidates have already stepped up for a number of other positions, though, including to fill the Fulton County commission seat left by the death of Joan Garner, and to replace a five-term mayor in Roswell.

In Fulton County, Natalie Hall, Garner’s former chief of staff — and wife of Atlanta mayoral candidate Kwanza Hall — qualified for the seat held by Garner. So did Steven D. Lee, Sr., a four-year member of the Atlanta Public Schools’ board whose term is up at the end of the year, and Reese McCranie, director of policy and communication for Atlanta’s Hartsfield-Jackson International Airport. Other candidates include Eddie Lee Brewster, who has previously run for a school board post, Kathryn Flowers Glasco, a Realtor, and Joshua McNair, a health care sales executive.

Jere Wood, the Roswell mayor, announced that he would not seek a sixth term after a judge said he had violated the term limits that he championed when he was elected to his fifth. Wood appealed that decision, though, and remains in office while his court case progresses.

Vying to replace him are two members of city council, Donald J. Horton and Lori Henry, as well as Michael Litten, who filed the suit that led to Wood’s decision not to seek another term. Lee A. Jenkins and Sandra Magdy Sidhom also qualified in the race.

Johns Creek Mayor Mike Bodker drew an opponent, executive Alex Michael Marchetti, and Sandy Springs Mayor Rusty Paul will face David Crim, a local businessman. And in Milton, Mayor Joe Lockwood will face Laura L. Rencher, a psychologist. Chattahoochee Hills Mayor Tom Reed also has a challenger, Marcia C. Lee.

RELATED: Milton extends qualifying for council seat

East Point Mayor Janquell Peters will not seek another term. Those interested in replacing her are council member Deana Holiday Ingraham and former council members Marcel Reed and Clyde K. Mitchell.

In Fairburn, Mayor Mario Avery also declined to run again. Elizabeth Carr-Hurst, a member of city council, is the only person running to replace him.

Union City Mayor Vince Williams does not have a challenger.

In addition to the mayors’ races, city council seats in those cities and others are on the ballot. Races for council will take place in Alpharetta, College Park, Chattahoochee Hills, East Point, Palmetto, Mountain Park, Fairburn, Hapeville, Johns Creek, Milton, Roswell, Sandy Springs and Union City.

In Atlanta, 13 people have qualified for the mayor’s race, and another three are running for city council president. Additionally, the city will have elections for both the school board and city council.

The candidates for mayor are state Sen. Vincent Fort, Atlanta City Councilwoman Mary Norwood, former Atlanta Workforce Development Agency director Michael T. Sterling, former Fulton County Commission Chairman John Eaves, Atlanta City Councilwoman Keisha Lance Bottoms, Atlanta City Councilman Kwanza Hall, Atlanta City Council President Ceasar Mitchell, former Atlanta City Council President Cathy Woolard and former city of Atlanta COO Peter Aman. Other mayoral candidates are Rohit Ammanamanchi, Laban King, Carl A. Jackson and Glenn S. Wrightson.

Running for Atlanta City Council president are Felicia Moore, Alex Wan and C.T. Martin. Additionally, 61 people have qualified to run for 12 city council seats.

The city of South Fulton, which elected its first mayor and council this year, has no elections.


The AJC's Arielle Kass keeps you updated on the latest happenings in Fulton County government and politics. You'll find more on, including these stories:

Never miss a minute of what's happening in Fulton politics. Subscribe to

In other Fulton news:

Reader Comments ...

Next Up in Local

Aerotropolis Atlanta CIDs seek community input on improvement plan
Aerotropolis Atlanta CIDs seek community input on improvement plan

In early 2017, the Aerotropolis Atlanta Community Improvement Districts was awarded a grant from the Atlanta Regional Commission to complete the AeroATL Greenway Plan. When complete, it will be a comprehensive trail master plan for the Aerotropolis area, connecting the communities around Hartsfield-Jackson Atlanta International Airport. Each of the...
BREAKING: Arrests made in robberies targeting Asian businesses
BREAKING: Arrests made in robberies targeting Asian businesses

Two of the three people wanted in connection with a string of violent robberies targeting Asian businesses have been arrested, according to the FBI. The names and charges of those arrested have not been released. FBI spokesman Stephen Emmett said details would be released later Wednesday. According to officials, the trio robbed 10 restaurants, spas...
Atlanta wins COPS grant to expand BeltLine patrol unit
Atlanta wins COPS grant to expand BeltLine patrol unit

The U.S. Department of Justice has awarded a 2017 Community Oriented Policing Services Hiring Program grant to the city of Atlanta. It was among the recipients for a $1.875 million award, which will fund 15 additional Path Force officers over three years. The Path Force is a dedicated unit of the Atlanta Police Department that patrols the Atlanta BeltLine&rsquo...
Road to Bethlehem closed for 60 days
Road to Bethlehem closed for 60 days

The Georgia Department of Transportation will be shifting traffic on the roundabout project in Walton County at State Route 81 and Bold Springs Road in Bethlehem. This section of Bold Springs Road is 8.2 miles northeast of Loganville. The construction will detour traffic for Bold Springs Road headed westbound by way of Bold Springs Church Road beginning...
Runoff election early voting begins Nov. 27 in Peachtree Corners
Runoff election early voting begins Nov. 27 in Peachtree Corners

Early voting in the runoff election for Peachtree Corners City Council Post 4 between the incumbent Jeanne Aulbach and candidate Joe Sawyer begins Nov. 27 and runs through Dec. 1. Voters may cast their ballots between 9 a.m. and 4 p.m. at Peachtree Corners City Hall, 147 Technology Parkway, Suite 200. City Hall is the only location for this runoff...
More Stories